Condemns Police Brutality against Dalit leaders in a Peaceful Demonstration

इनेप्लिज २०७२ साउन १९ गते २०:१० मा प्रकाशित

Condems Police Brutality against Dalits in Peacefull Demostration Demanding Dalit Rights in New Constituition

Washington, DC, August 4 – International Commission for Dalit Rights (ICDR), Nepali-American Society for Oppressed (NASO) Community along with several international and diaspora organizations strongly condemn police brutality against Dalit Legislative-Parliamentarians, leaders and activists in a peaceful demonstration demanding Dalit Rights in the New Constitution of Nepal in Kathmandu on Tuesday.

The ICDR urges Government of Nepal to investigate and cease police officers, who used ‘excessive force’ over the demonstrators in the peaceful sit-on program organized by various Dalit Organizations, including lawmakers from Dalit Community.

ICDR concerns about health situation of Dalit lawmakers Mr. Man Bahadur Bishwakarma, Dalijit BK Sripaili, Jitu Garji Gautam, Dalit civil society leaders Gajadhar Sunar, Durga Sob, Ganesh BK, Binod Pahadi, Ranendra Barali, Kamala Hemchuri among several other demonstrators, who injured by the police force.


ICDR President and human rights advocate Mr. DB Sagar expressed his frustration over the use of ‘exclusive force’ against Dalit Rights Movement by the Government of Nepal. He shown continue solidarity and support for the Dalit Rights Movement of Nepal and stated that ‘the Draft Constitution is not guarantee the civil and political rights of Dalits and minorities at all levels.’ The Draft Constitution has used derogatory terms and provisions in several sections, if passed without ensuring political rights of Dalits, will be more regressive, he stated.

NASO President Gopal BK along with other ICDR and NASO leaders strongly condemns the use of police force against peaceful demonstration against Dalit leaders.

ICDR, NASO along with other organizations recently submitted a Joint Memorandum demanding the proportionate Political and Civil Rights of Dalits in New Constitution of Nepal.